REQUIREMENTS FOR OPENING A NEW DRIVING SCHOOL

ARE YOU QUALIFIED?

To become a **driving school owner** the applicant must:

- 1. be a citizen of the United States or be lawfully present in the United States, and be a resident of the State of Louisiana;
- 2. be at least 21 years of age;
- 3. hold a valid Louisiana driver's license;
- 4. have earned at least a high school diploma or GED;
- 5. possess any required business and occupational license;
- 6. not have been convicted of any felony offenses related to the operation of a driving school or any other business regulated by DPS;
- 7. not have been convicted of a crime involving violence, dishonesty, deceit, indecency or an offense involving moral turpitude within the last ten years;
- 8. not be convicted of any crime enumerated in R. S. 15:587.1(C) (the Child Protection Act);
- 9. not be a current or previous owner of a driving school whose license has been revoked;
- 10. has not provided false information with the application or falsified or withheld documents or information from representatives of DPS;
- 11. not have been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony offenses involving controlled dangerous substance(s) or driving while intoxicated within the last ten (10) years.
- 12. pass a background check;
- 13. have a valid e-mail address;
- 14. submit a complete application package.

To be **classroom instructor** the applicant must:

- 1. Meet all qualifications of a driving school owner and:
- a. currently holds a valid teaching certificate with the following specialized education courses:
 - General Safety Education—three hours
 - ii. Basic Information Course in Driver Education course —three hours
 - iii. Curriculum Innovations and Instructional Devices course —three hours of in-depth study of driver education and traffic safety curricular materials and familiarization with related instructional devices.
 - iv. First Aid one hour; OR
 - b. a certificate of completion of a driver education course at least equivalent to a 30-hour classroom course which has been approved by DPS.
- 3. Have at least 5 years driving experience;
- 4. Has not previously been a licensed instructor whose license was suspended or revoked.
- 5. Within the last three years shall not have the convictions listed below or a combination of three or more single convictions listed below:
 - a. driving under suspension
 - b. 2 or more citations for seatbelt violations
 - c. 2 or more citations for following too closely
 - d. 2 or more citations for child restraint violations
 - e. 3 or more exceeding the posted speed limit
 - f. 2 or more citations for texting while driving

Additional qualifications for 8 Hour Behind-the-Wheel Instructor:

- 1. meet the qualifications of a classroom instructor;
- 2. hold at least a valid Class "D" Louisiana chauffeur's license;
- 3. not be missing an eye, hand or foot; and
- 4. have visual acuity not worse than 20/40 in each eye, with or without corrective lenses and not have any restrictions which indicate less than 20/40 vision or have physical impairment restrictions on his driver's license.

Qualifications for a 3rd. Party Tester Examiner

- 1. Meet all the qualifications for a behind the wheel instructor and;
- 2. Complete and pass the Office of Motor Vehicle examiner training course including in car instruction.

If you are qualified to apply to become a driving school owner and/or instructor, you may begin the application process. The department has divided the application process into phases. The first phase requires passing the background check and submission of your lesson plan and course specifications. Details of the information that must be included are

provided in this document. Applicants who do not exhibit the ability to prepare comprehensive lesson plans and course specifications will not be licensed.

PHASE 1 – BEGIN APPLICATION PROCESS

The first phase of the application process requires potential owners to submit an application for approval and submit to a background check.

The application packet must contain:

- a. Application for Driving School Owner Approval (DPSMV6710)
- b. Certified check or money order for non-refundable application fee of \$50;
- c. Completed background check forms (2) for each owner along with separate \$38 certified check or money order for each.

The Office of Motor Vehicles utilizes e-mail as the primary communication method with potential driving school owners. Check your email when your application is pending. Any additional documents required or issues noted will be communicated through email. The Office of Motor Vehicles may also require an interview with the potential driving school owners.

When the application packet is received, the background check will be submitted to the Louisiana State Police and the FBI. The background check will take up to six weeks or longer to complete. After the background check is processed and the results are received you will be notified of the results. Only after passing the background check may the lesson plan be submitted. The lesson plan will be reviewed to ensure compliance with regulations outlined in Title 55 and the Louisiana Driver's Guide.

The lesson plan should contain:

- a. Beginning and ending time of each class day, lunch and break periods included ii. Number of class days in the course;
 - iii. Material sources;
 - iv. Time periods assigned to each topic
 - v. How information is presented, i.e. handouts, videos, lectures;
 - vi. Title and length of audio/visual sources to be utilized.
 - vii. Information on the parent responsibility segment
- b. Course specifications outlining specific information for your proposed school
- c. Course introduction to orientate students to the class;
- d. Information regarding the Parent's Responsibility segment
- e. Lesson plan for the behind-the-wheel course which outlines the stages of the course based on the student's progression and specifies the types of roads traveled the traffic signals and signs encountered on the routes taken and the average time frame students are exposed to various types of roads. Written documentation or GPS mapping may be included;
- f. Copies of unit tests and final examination.

Note: Applicants who do not exhibit the ability to prepare comprehensive lesson plans will not be licensed. Only three attempts of submission of lesson plans are allowed.

The completion of Phase 1 determines if you will be approved as a driving school owner. You will be notified via email that the lesson plan has been approved and you will be asked to submit Phase 2 of the application process. At this time, you may begin to look for a location, determine what type of vehicle will best suit your needs, obtain insurance quotes, etc.

PHASE 2 – DRIVING SCHOOL PACKET

The second application packet shall include:

- a. Application for Owner and Operator of a Driving School (DPSMV 2147). This form is furnished by the Office of Motor Vehicles and must be signed by the owner and notarized, unless the owner is making application for instructor:
- b. A certified check or money order for \$100.00;
- c. Certificate of auto liability insurance in the company name stating that all vehicles utilized in the behind the
 wheel course
 are currently insured and that upon cancellation or expiration, the department will be notified.
 This certificate shall be from the issuing insurance carrier, not the agency; identify (by description and vehicle)

- identification number) the vehicle(s) covered. The limits shall be from a company authorized to do business in this state in the amount of at least the minimum amount required by R.S. 32:900;
- d. Certificate of auto liability insurance in the company name stating that all vehicles utilized in the <u>road skills test</u> are currently insured and that upon cancellation or expiration, the department will be notified. The certificate must be from the issuing insurance carrier, not the agency and must identify (by description and vehicle identification number) the vehicle(s) covered. The limits must be \$500,000 in auto liability per occurrence. This certificate must ensure the department will be notified of any cancellation.
- e. Complete description of any vehicles used in behind the wheel instruction and road skills tests. Proof must be submitted that vehicle(s) are equipped with dual brake control, school signage, and an instructor's interior rearview mirror;
- f. Certificate of general liability insurance in the company name listing the company's physical address of each testing location and upon cancellation or expiration, the department will be notified. This certificate must be from the issuing insurance. The limits shall be \$1,000,000 in general liability;
- g. Address of and specification on classrooms utilized to conduct the classroom course, including room size and capacity as determined by the State Fire Marshal or local authority. If the use of classroom use is being changed, a plan review by the Fire Marshall's office is required;
- h. Copy of occupational license for potential location;
- i. Background checks on all non-instructor employees responsible for supervision of students;
- j. Completed Driving School Instructor Application Package for each Instructor;
- k. Completed application package for third party tester certification;
- I. Bond in the amount of \$20,000.

Instructors

Each instructor submitting an application will be required to specify which instruction (classroom and/or behind the wheel) they desire to perform. Instructors must meet the requirements for each function. Each school location will be required to maintain one instructor which is licensed as a third party tester. The application must be signed by the owner and notarized (unless the owner is making application) of the driving school, thus indicating that said person is or will be employed by the school. This applies to renewals as well as original application.

The instructor packet includes:

- a. Application for Instructor of a Driving School (DPSMV 2148);
- b. Completed background check forms (2) for each instructor along with a separate \$38 certified check of money order for each instructor;
- c. A valid teaching certificate or Certificate of Successful Completion as outlined in the qualification;
- d. Non-refundable \$20 certified check of money order made payable to DPS.

PHASE 3- THIRD PARTY TESTER TRAINING

After all documents are reviewed for correctness and the necessary requirements have been met for the driver education portion the training for the administration of road skills test will be scheduled. The applicant must attend and pass a one day class administered by the Training Certification Unit. Upon completion of the Third Party Tester training the applicant must submit the road skills test route for approval. After the route is reviewed and approved, a contract will be sent to the owner. At this point advertising of the school and its' future opening may be done. No classes may be scheduled and no money may be collected until the license is received from the department.

FINAL STEP

After the contract is received and signed by department representatives, the school license and certification will be sent to the school along with instructor and examiner licenses for all instructors and examiners.